collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Like Us on Facebook

I think I heard the Marion whistle blow - Charlie Patton, Green River Blues

Author Topic: Off-genre learning pursuits  (Read 2042 times)

Offline Rivers

• Tech Support
  • I like chicken pie
Off-genre learning pursuits
« on: June 03, 2011, 06:57:10 PM »
Several members here work on other musical genres outside (but likely related, complementary and intertwined with) country blues so I thought I'd start a thread on this. Tell us what you're up to.

I've tried and failed to nail a respectable arrangement of many Cole Porter tunes over the years. His chord melody is deceptive, subtle and challenging for self-taught developing amateur jazzers like me. Night And Day though I finally got it recently. Absolutely wonderful song and I just love to play it. I like the Fred Astaire recording which has an Eddie Lang-esque guitar solo and many other understated high points. I believe the version I got from iTunes is from the soundtrack to the movie The Gay Divorcee. The intro is a really amazing piece of work. Works great on acoustic guitar.

We (me and the missus) have also been working on some other old standards. East of The Sun West of The Moon has been in the repertoire for a while, great, great tune. How High The Moon I've always loved and am working on memorizing so I don't have to think about it, so many changes, tough but worth the effort. In the Hoagy Carmichael bag Stardust & Baltimore Oriole are now pretty solid. Both of those totally do it for me.

So, that's my standards and show tunes confession. What's challenging you in the other genres department?

Offline Mr.OMuck

• MuckOVision
Re: Off-genre learning pursuits
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2011, 09:35:43 PM »