collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

* Like Us on Facebook

If trouble was money I swear I'd be a millionaire - Albert King, If Trouble Was Money

Author Topic: Come on in my kitchen  (Read 2777 times)

Offline Norfolk Slim

• Moonshine - Available at Bandcamp now...
Come on in my kitchen
« on: June 26, 2005, 06:43:38 AM »
I know, I know- its Robert Johnson and everyone's done his songs already...  :D

Thought it was time I posted a slide piece.  I'm relatively new to slide so am really just starting now to put complete songs together rather than noodling.  This happens to be the first.

Was recorded directly into the pc using Audacity and a condenser mic.  Its played on my (much refurbished) '33 National Duolian, with bare fingers.  I love the tone I get with picks, but the guitar is a complete animal and I have enought trouble controlling its sound without putting picks on!  Also, I only have one mic, and if I use picks, the guitar completely drowns the voice.

Arrangement credits to Bob Brozman, although this is a somewhat simplified version compared to his.

dabluz

Re: Come on in my kitchen
« Reply #1 on: June 26, 2005, 08:02:51 AM »
good job, nice playing 8)

Offline Prof Scratchy

• Howdy!
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2005, 10:39:57 AM »
Nice playing - and a great sounding guitar!

Offline a2tom

• stickman's got 'em
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2005, 07:36:22 AM »
what a great sound.? I don't have any problem with RJ!? In fact, I ought to learn some.? A question - what would it sound like if you widened out the vibrato on some of those held notes?? There is nice vibrato there already, and your slide control is just great, so this isn't a criticism, just a question.? Have you experimented with narrow and wide vibratos, and did you like the result?? Question from a fellow beginner (alhtough you seem more in control than I am!)