collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Devil got ninety thousand women - he need just one more - King Solomon Hill, Whoopee Blues

Author Topic: Total Newbie Questions: Banjos, Instruction Books, Gus Cannon  (Read 994 times)

Offline Clueless

• Howdy!
Total Newbie Questions: Banjos, Instruction Books, Gus Cannon
« on: August 21, 2015, 08:30:26 AM »
Hi everyone,
Total newbie here. I absolutely love pre war blues, and have lately been thinking about learning the banjo a la Gus Cannon, and jazz artists such as Johnny St. Cyr. My questions are: What kind of banjo would be most like Gus Cannon's? Could that banjo also be used for a hot jazz style from the 20's? Are there any books that cover Jazz, and pre war style blues banjo? I'm not totally new to music, I've been studying classical piano for almost 11 years, so theory and basic chords are not a completely foreign concept. Are there any websites that cover this style, and have tutorials? And lastly, how much would I have to pay to acquire the essentials: Banjo, Books, Strings, Picks, etc. I'm still in high school, so my funds are limited a fair amount, and I doubt I could spend more than 200.
Thanks for the help,
Alex

Offline Lastfirstface

Re: Total Newbie Questions: Banjos, Instruction Books, Gus Cannon
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2015, 09:27:07 AM »
Johnny St Cyr played a six-string guitar-banjo, while a lot of other early jazz banjoists played with a pick on four string tenor or plectrum banjos. Gus Cannon on the other hand used a five-string banjo with different finger picking and frailing styles. I suppose there is some overlap between Gus' playing on ragtime tunes and some early plectrum playing that was built around the same low-bass tuning, but they're kind of separate approaches in my experience.