collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
I had to sell my soul to the devil in order to learn to play like [Tommy Johnson]. Only the fellow who called himself the devil offered to teach me guitar in ten easy lessons, fifty dollars down and ten dollars per lesson. And he wasn't a man, exactly, but a transvestite who called himself "Peetie Wheatstraw's mother-in-law - Steve Calt, attributed to Shirley Griffith

Author Topic: Slotted vs. Paddled Headstocks?  (Read 941 times)

Offline GrasshopperBlues52499

• Howdy!
Slotted vs. Paddled Headstocks?
« on: March 29, 2017, 12:59:40 PM »
So I'm very new to vintage guitar collecting...

I don't buy often, but I'm absolutely head-over-heels for the pre-war/ladder braced/parlor guitars (particularly the 1900s Lyon & Healy and 1920s Stella). One thing I often fantasize over on these guitars (besides the immaculate tone!) is the slotted headstock. As of right now, my only slotted guitars are my first classical (owned since I was eight-years-old) and a beater "Montaya" from a consignment shop. Don't get me wrong, I'm very happy with the guitars I currently own, but having one of those old parlors with a slot head and a giant v-neck would surely put a giant grin on my face!

Although this has likely been debated numerous times, I'm dying to know for sure whether or not the slot head affects the sound of the instrument -- I've heard that because of the angle the strings sit at, and hence the downward pressure it puts on the nut, it makes for a better sounding instrument; on the other hand, I've heard that it's simply an aesthetic difference. Again, I'm clearly very new to this ordeal, so what I would like to know is this: Am I losing sleep over something crucial to the vintage sound I'm chasing after, or something that makes me look cool? I would love to get some food-for-thought on this.  :)

Cameron
hee hee well child

Offline banjochris

• Administrator