collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Blind Lemon Jefferson, that famous down-home Blues singer from down-Dallas-way, and his guitar, have gone to work and made a record that will almost make your phonograph trot - Blind Lemon Jefferson, Paramount publicity for Black Horse Blues

Author Topic: Tommy Johnson Covers Project  (Read 1970 times)

Offline CF

Tommy Johnson Covers Project
« on: July 10, 2012, 08:52:08 AM »
This is my first attempt at this elusive Tommy tune, got the lyrics from a David Evans transcription I found online. Tried following the verse structure of the original but you really have to be paying attention in those instrumental/kazoo sections because there are so many of them & you have to have some ideas floating around or the song seems too long. I'm working towards a project of covering some of the rarer Johnson tunes, especially those from the Paramount sessions & I'll probably share the results here. Apologies for the echo effect, was a bit more than I intended :o

« Last Edit: July 12, 2012, 08:17:21 AM by cheapfeet »
Stand By If You Wanna Hear It Again . . .

Offline Rivers

• Tech Support
  • I like chicken pie
Re: I Wonder To Myself, Tommy Johnson Cover
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2012, 09:04:28 AM »
Very nice Mike. Great groove, like your voice, kazoo works, good choice of song. I didn't hear too much reverb, sounded pretty natural to me.

Offline 143TallBoy

« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2012, 10:21:13 AM »
Great job! One of my all time favourite recordings. The guitar was nicely done and your voice sounds really natural, your personality comes through but you still stay true to the original. Nice job on the kazoo, you really nailed the raggy feel of it all.

Have you tried to play the slow version of Lonesome Home Blues? I call it the 'spooky' version, it's a completely different song from the other two takes. (Track 11 on the complete recorded works DOCD-5001)