collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Boy, everybody's bin asking me one damn thing or another. I'll sing you something from that record when I get out there. You're here to hear me sing, ain't ya? - Lightnin' Hopkins responds to a young Alan Balfour's request to sign an album sleeve

Author Topic: old-time banjo  (Read 9498 times)

Offline frankie

• Old Refuge
old-time banjo
« on: March 05, 2004, 06:43:49 PM »
Relates to my other vice, oldtime banjo.

Hi E. Hadley - I don't want to hijack the Blind Blake thread, so I'm responding here.  I've been playing banjo for about six years.  I love it, but I have a long way to go with it...  Do you play any Dock Boggs?  I mess around with a couple things:  Danville Girl, False-Hearted Lover's Blues.  One of these days I'm going to corner Pat Conte and get him to play Dock's Country Blues until I get it...  there's this whole weird right hand thing going on...

Anyway, welcome to the board!

Offline Johnm

• Global Moderator
    • johnmillerguitar.com
Re: old-time banjo
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2004, 09:13:38 AM »
Hi Frank,
Seeing your post talking about Dock Boggs got me to thinking that being in his special tuning works out a lot of the difficulty in what he does.  You probably already know it, but it is (from fifth to first string) f#CGAD.  He used it for Country Blues, Oh Death, Drunkard's Lone Child, and many others.  I find his Folkways-era stuff easier to work with in terms of figuring stuff out by ear than his early recordings.  It's not so fast, for one thing.  I can't think of any Old-Time figure who had a higher percentage of great songs, and what a singer!  He was great.
All best,
John

Offline frankie

• Old Refuge
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2004, 09:36:27 AM »