collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Play it right, if it takes all night! - Harmonica player Bud Spires at Port Townsend

Author Topic: mississippi shieks help  (Read 1328 times)

Offline crustypicker

• Howdy!
mississippi shieks help
« on: January 06, 2013, 04:29:46 PM »
can anyone help me out with some o the mississippi shieks tunes, im working on sales tax and honey babe let your deal go down.

sales tax sounds from what i can hear in the key of G, kinda hard to hear, seems like the intro after the talking is  in D and then goes to  0-0-5-7-6-7 in between 0-0-4-6-5-6 which i guess is a F#7th then to a C but i cant seem to find what shape for the C hes doing. back to the G in between the F#7th and to D major to D 7TH. anything helps alot of there tunes have wierd bass walks tryin to learn anything helps im no pro but i love the shieks and would like to learn more

Offline Johnm

• Global Moderator
    • johnmillerguitar.com
Re: mississippi shieks help
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2013, 04:34:12 PM »
Hi crustypicker,
Welcome to Weenie Campbell!  The foremost expert on Mississippi Sheiks guitar-playing, Frank Basile, frequents this site on occasion, and I hope he sees your post, for he certainly has the answers to your queries.
All best,
Johnm

Offline crustypicker

• Howdy!
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2013, 04:59:07 PM »
i hope he see it too thanx for the friendly greeting, just found this site and i think its very cool

Offline pkeane

• PeterKeane.com
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2013, 05:09:31 PM »
Here's one of the great exegetical works on a country blues:

http://www.donegone.net/?p=138

It's from Frankie Basile's web site.  I suspect a deep-dive on any particular Mississippi Shieks song will be helpful in unlocking secrets of other MS songs as well.  I learned a ton from this blog post.

-Peter Keane

Offline crustypicker

• Howdy!
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2013, 05:56:08 PM »