collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
The best black, gay, one-eyed junkie piano genius New Orleans has ever produced - Dr. John on James Booker

Author Topic: Why did so many players go for dreadnaughts after their "re-discovery"?  (Read 3748 times)

Offline Cartouche

• tombstone hand/graveyard mind
I know this link has been posted before,
http://www.earlyblues.com/blues_singers.htm

but I was looking over it again and I started wondering why so many of the blues musicians that reappeared during the folk boom choose to go with larger-bodied guitars. Since I started playing this type of music 18 months ago, I was under the assumption that a parlor size was the preferred weapon of choice by many/most of the masters.

So why, when they later had access to a wider choice of guitars than the Sears & Roebuck catalog did they go for J-45, D-18, D-28, B-25, etc.?

Was it just a lack of availability or financial resources to buy a dread back in the day? Would that have been preferred over the parlors?

Or maybe during the 50s-60s parlors were not in production or had fallen out of favor?

It makes me wonder, if Blind Blake or B.L. Jefferson made it to the 60s, would they have gone for a J-45?  :-\

Offline Lyle Lofgren

• Lyle & Elizabeth Lofgren
I can't answer your question, but I can tell you what Rev. Gary Davis said about why he would only use a Gibson guitar (approximately; it's been a lot of years): "You can sing on a street corner with it in the rain, and it won't fall apart."

It's possible that street singers, who needed more volume, would have chosen larger guitars if they could have afforded it.

Lyle

Offline Mr.OMuck

• MuckOVision