collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Life wasn't hard with Gabe, you just had to drink a lot - Former sig. other, on life with Guitar Gabriel

Author Topic: How to make MP3s of you playing  (Read 6147 times)

Offline a2tom

• stickman's got 'em
How to make MP3s of you playing
« on: November 21, 2004, 07:08:57 PM »
I hope there isn't another Weenie thread of how to go about making recordings of yourself playing, for posting or other purposes.  If there is, point me to it please.

I think it would be useful for people to share their own setup - how they skinned the cat (the similar thread on transporting guitars on planes was great). 

Here's my recent experience.  It's where I've ended up after some initial unsatisfying efforts with cheaper approaches (cheap mic into standard soundcard, e.g.).  Take it with the understanding that I am a strictly amatuer musician in the privacy of his bedroom office with a low end PC.  The goal was to be simple and inexpensive but effective.  Also, understand that I haven't yet completed the setup!  I still have questions maybe folks can help me with.

Microphones: 

The word on the street seemed to be that for "studio" recording a condenser mic is best.  Maybe someone can explain why - I really don't know much about mics.  I decided to go with a Shure KSM-109, mainly on name recognition and info from the company.  It's their low-end condensor "instrument" mic.  I paid $180.  I have no doubt that I could have gotten a less expensive mic, but I figured that with the money in the guitar and time in what I've trained my fingers to do, I didn't want a cheap mic killing the sound.