collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
You heard 'em at home say gamblers just don't loose out ain't ya? We all taken' a chance when we play one of them numbers and it don't come out like we want it - but play 'em anyhow... Keep on bettin'...you're bound to win. That's when you gonna play policy all over again - Lightnin' Hopkins Policy Blues

Author Topic: Beginning Picker  (Read 2922 times)

Offline Tall Bob Flood

Beginning Picker
« on: January 12, 2010, 04:48:32 AM »
Hi Folks,

I'm a beginner with fingerpicking... I really like to know what you think of my attempts because I just don't have someone around who can judge it properly...

My first attempt is on Papa Charlie Jackson's famous 'Shake that thing'... Let me know!!!! Thanks in advance!

p.s. Sorry for the recording... not hq
« Last Edit: January 12, 2010, 05:57:01 AM by Hooligan601 »
Check my youtube channel:

Offline Norfolk Slim

• Moonshine - Available at Bandcamp now...
Re: Beginning Picker
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2010, 05:54:20 AM »
Sounds to me like you have a solid foundation there.  The alt bass is steady (something that many beginners struggle to get initially), the timing is sound and the notes are ringing clear.

With time and confidence, the tune will swing more- but for a beginner I think thats pretty darned good.

One of the things that I was told when starting out with alt bass stuff, to help get it swinging (by Woody Mann as it happens) is to think about trying to push through the D string a little with the thumb on the upbeats- i.e. dont be scared to catch a bit of the third  string with a good firm thumb stroke on the alt bass.  So long as its damped (and I can hear you've got some damping going on in the bass already) it can provide some extra oomph.

I should add that it took me years to be able to do it comfortably!  Just one of those little long term things to have in the back of your mind when noodling.