collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Don't let a woman know you love her, if you do you have done wrong - Arthur Petties, Out On Santa Fe Blues

Author Topic: lightnin' hopkins melody  (Read 872 times)

Offline unezrider

lightnin' hopkins melody
« on: October 27, 2010, 03:07:23 PM »
hello friend,
i have never tried recording before, & i found it was actually kind of a challenge. the hardest thing was trying not to look at the computer screen while i was playing, because every time i did i would flub a note or two.  ::)  plus the sound isn't the best going directly into the computer, but it's all i have to work with. & really, i just wanted to hear what it sounded like?
the sound in the room is much better than what comes through on the video. & i know there are a few missed notes, but if anyone wants to listen & offer any advise, i am all ears! (practice standing up & playing more goes without saying  ;) )
my take on a familiar lightnin' hopkins theme (i just noticed youtube messed it up. the sound is off from the video & it ends about a minute too soon.)
chris

none the less

"Be good, & you will be lonesome." -Mark Twain

Offline Richard

• Drove this for 25 years!
    • weekendblues
Re: lightnin' hopkins melody
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2010, 12:50:33 PM »
Well it sounds all right to me, very confident in fact. Are you doing this with the guitar plumbed straight into the computer or via a mic, because it doesn't sound like the usual crappy laptop mic!

My only other comment is to suggest doing it on an acoustic  :P
(That's enough of that. Ed)

Offline unezrider

Re: lightnin' hopkins melody
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2010, 02:26:57 PM »
thanks for the kind words, richard!