collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
The poor are getting poorer. The rich are getting rich. If I don't starve I'm a son of a gun - David McCarn, Cotton Mill Colic

Author Topic: Discussion On Writing Lyrics?  (Read 777 times)

Offline RootDoctor

• Howdy!
Discussion On Writing Lyrics?
« on: May 06, 2021, 10:10:57 AM »
Hello fellow forum members,

Firstly, long time watcher. Thank you all so much for the HUGE vault of valuable information available on this forum. Words cannot not adequately express my thanks to you all. From Guitar styles, transcriptions, lyrics and history/musicology. It's a diamond mine.

Secondly, a little about me. With a lot of help from SGGW, Homespun and this Forum I managed to become a reasonable country blues guitarist. Unfortunately, I wasn't (and am not) much of a performer. I love the music and always will, but as a musician I fell out of love with performing and consequently let my blues skills somewhat dissipate and ended up focusing more on Jazz (With less success). Recently, partly due to the goddamn virus I felt a hankering for getting back into learning some country blues.

I may well be in the wrong forum for this question, but I was wondering if any of you folks had any opinions on writing lyrics/melodies and whether there was any discussions being had on the subject on this forum? It may well be sacrilege to some, in which case, please forgive me!

I would love to try and write some 'originals' (in quotes as often it may well be a Sitting On Top Of The World, kinda rewrite), however I feel it could be a risky endeavour.

All opinions welcome, even if there scolding of the idea.

Thanks

Offline banjochris

• Administrator
Re: Discussion On Writing Lyrics?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2021, 11:13:50 AM »
First of all, welcome!