collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Ain't but 5 dollars a head, and I guarantee you when you leave, you leave knowin' more than you know before you come there, and you'll know more than I took your money - Rev. Gary Davis offers guitar lessons to the audience, c. 1970

Author Topic: The thumb F chord  (Read 3512 times)

Offline Annabel

• Howdy!
The thumb F chord
« on: July 31, 2014, 11:11:50 AM »
Hello everyone!

I've been playing the guitar for quite a while but I'm new to acoustic fingerpicking and I'm finding that thumb F chord to be a challenge as far as getting a clear bass note. Even tougher is flattening my finger to get that high F note on the 1st string while playing that F on the 6th. I noticed in John Miller's videos that his thumb seems to be at a sort of angle. I'm experimenting, but so far haven't been very successful. I can fret a D/F# chord with the thumb just fine. It's just getting it down to the 1st fret for that F note that's a problem. Can anyone share any tips for someone who has fairly small hands? Is it just something that will get easier over time?

Offline Kokomo O

• Howdy!
Re: The thumb F chord
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2014, 02:05:52 PM »
It will get easier with time, but as our famous friend Frankie told me many years ago on another forum, the key for the thumb-over F chord shape is to hold your palm flat on the back of the neck. That way, you somehow get the geometry right for both the thumb and the index finger to hold their respective strings. It still won't be easy at first, and some people find it easier to start out a few frets up the neck where they're closer together, even though the neck is wider. But rest assured that anyone, no matter how large or small their hands, can do it.