collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
It can be argued that Chess is the Robert Johnson of record labels: over-emphasized and sometimes over-hyped, endlessly recycled, barnacled with legends and namechecked by ignorati anxious to establish their cred. And yet - also like Robert Johnson - in an active life that was fairly short, Chess produced music of vast artistic and historical importance - Chris Smith, review of Chess Blues various artist compilations in the 2006 Penguin Guide To Blues Recordings p. 780

Author Topic: West African Music and Country Blues  (Read 6229 times)

Offline doctorpep

West African Music and Country Blues
« on: January 15, 2009, 10:40:58 PM »
I'm going to try to ask these questions without sounding like an idiot, but I have no knowledge of musical theory or chords or notes, so it will be difficult. Which West African musicians (who have recorded material) are supposedly the roots of the Country Blues? I just listened to Ali Farka Toure's son play some beautiful guitar on Youtube, but the music sounded a lot more like James "Blood" Ulmer than like Charley Patton, Son House, Blind Lemon, etc. I understand that Otha Turner's Fife & Drum tradition is related to West African music, but how do the Country Blues records of the '20s and early '30s relate to Toure and son and musicians from Mali? I saw "The Blues" documentary (the seven part series) and felt that the musicians from Mali were great, but I didn't feel that Corey Harris' covers of Blues classics, or the original versions of the songs he covers, related to traditional West African music. Also, considering the influence of European Classical music, not to mention American Blues, Rock and Jazz, how in the world can we possibly know what traditional West African music sounds like in its "pure" form (hate to use that word, guys; sorry!). I should probably say, "How in the world are we supposed to know what traditional West Af