collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
I ain't got nobody here but me and myself. If I had my right mind I'd stay drunk all the time - Charlie Patton, Shake It And Break It

Author Topic: Sunday Rag  (Read 2012 times)

Offline Bluesymel

• Love the Blues!
Sunday Rag
« on: February 20, 2005, 05:53:55 PM »
I only started this piece about one week ago. Credit for the tablature goes to our own Steve McBill.
Composed By: Stefan Grossman
Copyright: S. Grossman
Transcribed By: Steve J. McWilliam
I know it's quite rough and since I am new to ragtime I would like any suggestions regarding timing etc. I know it sounds like I am playing an electirc but is a Martin D35. It is a Seymour Duncan sound hole pick up plugged into a laptop with no actual sound card so maybe that's why. Any way, comments please.

Mel

Offline GhostRider

• That'll never happen no more!
Re: Sunday Rag
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2005, 12:25:32 PM »
Mel:

One week ago-terrific. This tune is more in the classical-ragtime catagory rather than the blues-ragtime genre of which I am more familiar.

Two comments. The bass notes, especially the 1 and 3 beats are a bit weakly struck (or at least sound that way, could be a recording artifact). If they were more definate it would give the piece a more bouncy, ragtime feel as well as emphasizing the ends of the lines where the bass drops out.

The second is; for my taste the piece could be speeded up a bit and syncopated ("swing") a bit more.

You've got a great start, with a little more practice and so you'll have a real show-stopper type piece there. I'm jealous!

Alex
« Last Edit: February 24, 2005, 09:23:40 AM by pyrochlore »

Offline SteveMcBill

• This too shall pass! So grab it while you can!
    • Steve Mc's Acoustic Guitar
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2005, 01:28:33 PM »
Hi Mel,