collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Negros must stop the deluge of filth, which makers of records are marketing among them. The music of the 'Blues' is one thing, but whether good or bad, it is indefensible to put to it all the stench which ingenuity can drag out the under-world and camouflage with words of double meaning. Don't buy them! Don't go to people's houses who do buy them! Don't permit your race newspaper to bear that name and at the same time advertise flagrant immorality set to music. Do anything, do everything, filthy records must go. - Roy Wilkins, (attrib.) editorial in the December 31 1926 edition of the Kansas City Call, probably written by the man who ironically went on to head up the NAACP

Author Topic: Blues in the 5th grade  (Read 5817 times)

Offline JohnEdelman

• Howdy!
Blues in the 5th grade
« on: February 23, 2005, 07:58:19 PM »
Hi All,

I'm a student teacher in a fifth grade class (I'm an old guy changing careers).  I volunteered to do a lesson about the blues.  The music teacher in the school suggested I teach the standard 12 bar blues, playing a few songs to help the students hear the chord changes.  I'm also planning on having them write their own blues lyrics. 

Anyone have expereince with this?  I'm open to any and all suggestions.  Are there any songs in particular you think are good, musically and lyrically (remember, these are 5th graders).  How about useful websites?  I don't want this to be an academic exercise.  I think they can be exposed the musical form and have fun with it and, hopefully, recognise it when they hear it again.

Thanks in advance.

John

Offline Johnm

• Global Moderator
    • johnmillerguitar.com
Re: Blues in the 5th grade
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2005, 09:40:28 PM »
Hi John,