collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Some folks say the Big Bill Blues ain't bad. Musn't have been the Big Bill Blues I had - Big Bill Broonzy, Big Bill Blues

Author Topic: What are the sources to MASTERING the Open G and D tuning SLIDE songs?  (Read 3824 times)

moonshiner137

Hi --

I have a question about slide playing.

I have some experience playing RJ's open G tuning songs -- Kitchen, Terraplane and Possession.

I'd like to learn get more breadth in slide playing in open tunings by using instructional DVD's

My above experience is by learning from Rory Block's DVD on RJ and is as follows --
Usually,
the I chord is the octave slide or the open strum,
the IV chord is the 5th fret slide and
V chord is the 7th fret. 
And there's the buddy note on the 3rd string, 3rd fret.

What is a good instructional source to free up my slide playing in open G for starters? Any DVD?

m137
« Last Edit: October 05, 2006, 09:13:54 AM by moonshiner137 »

Offline twangmeister

• Howdy!
Re: What are the sources to MASTERING the Open G and D tuning SLIDE songs?
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2006, 09:25:07 AM »
The Bob Brozman Bottleneck Blues DVDs on Homespun are generally reckoned to be amongst the best and I would highly recommend them. If you're ok with Rory's RJ lesson, you won't want the first of Bob's three dvd's. The second DVD covers advanced stuff using taditional blues songs in Open G, whilst the third covers a variety of again traditional blues in other tunings, including D, DM, C and standard.

TM

Offline uncle bud

• Rank amateur
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2006, 10:34:52 AM »
There's Stefan Grossman's Bottleneck Blues Guitar http://guitarvideos.com/video/dvd/902dvd.htm. It covers a fair amount of ground and is not overly difficult. There's some great footage included of Son House, Booker White, Mance Lipscomb.