collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
I didn't write no 'Candy Man'. That song was *revealed* to me" - Reverend Gary Davis, according to Book Binder

Author Topic: Choosing Strings for Older Guitars  (Read 5339 times)

crawley

Choosing Strings for Older Guitars
« on: February 23, 2005, 01:08:51 PM »
hey y'all, my name's aaron gabriel crawley, 31 yrs old, and i have also been a pre-war blues geek for years. it all began with borrowing the columbia robert johnson cassette's from the public library. i've been playing for about 19 years. the only guitar i have right now is a beat up '26 L-1 that i bought when i lived in memphis, tn. i now live in albany, ca.

maybe someone can help me out? i use martin silk & steels 11-47's. i'm bored with them but i can't seem to find any others brands, gauges, etc..nayone with an L-1 or similar that can suggest something new?

thanks,
aaron

Offline GhostRider

• That'll never happen no more!
Re: What Happened to the Forum?
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2005, 01:30:49 PM »
Aaron:

I have a recent reissue L-1 on which I have tried Elixirs and Phosphor bronze. I like the phosphor bronze much better, I think the mahogany bodied guitars need the brightness.

I string mine with medium-guage, poss. your old girl would prefer lights.

John Pearse strings are my brand if available

Alex
« Last Edit: February 23, 2005, 01:33:31 PM by pyrochlore »

Online Slack

• Administrator
Re: Choosing Strings for Older Guitars
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2005, 04:18:35 PM »
Hi Aaron, welcome to Weenie Campbell.

Is this a flat top? or archtop?

slack

Offline waxwing

• Wax's YouTube Channel
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2005, 08:57:09 PM »
So is that an archtop L-1 or the earliest flat top (i.e. pin bridge) L-1, which did still have a little arch to it but was "H" braced?
...was how I put it earlier today before I got called away, mid post.-G-(GMTA)