collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Young Louis fires a gun in New Orleans during New Years celebration and is sent to reform school - Louis Armstrong, New Years enthusiasm

Author Topic: Maintaining a growing repetoire  (Read 1044 times)

Offline Cartouche

• tombstone hand/graveyard mind
Maintaining a growing repetoire
« on: May 08, 2013, 04:46:05 AM »
Hi gang-

I've been playing country blues for about 2 years now, working through various instructional dvds that pique my interest. I've reached the point where I can play about 50 tunes reasonably well by memory. As I look at other dvds that I'd like to study, I wonder how difficult it will be to maintain a repetoire of so many tunes?

As I window-shop dvds, and anticipate forthcoming lessons, the number of potential tunes grows to nearly 200 songs! How does one manage? I try to remember and maintain every song that I've learned, but maybe this is unrealistic. It's almost a type of hoarding, you know, "I worked so hard on this tune, it'd be a shame to forget it."

I typically organize my daily practice time to address three levels of learning:
1. working on a new song or technique (currently bottleneck)
2. reviewing existing repetoire (usually I play 5-10 songs once through to keep them "remembered")
3. bringing certain tunes to what I would call performance level - working on vocals, unique signature licks/variations, bringing up to proper tempo

So, the questions...

How do you maintain and time-manage a growing repetoire?

Do you learn and memorize each song on every dvd you study, or just the tunes you like? Or do you learn them, not memorize, for the technique building, then drop the ones that don't resonate with you personally?

Thanks,
Marc

Offline banjochris

• Administrator
Re: Maintaining a growing repetoire
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2013, 09:00:13 AM »