collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
He was a sinful boy, good-hearted but had no soul. His heart was hard and cold like ice - Willie McTell, Dying Crapshooter's Blues

Author Topic: Gardening  (Read 13524 times)

Offline Johnm

• Global Moderator
    • johnmillerguitar.com
Gardening
« on: June 13, 2009, 12:57:11 PM »
Hi all,
I wondered if any of you Weenies were into gardening.  I'm kind of new to it, but my wife has been into it for a number of years.  When she ordered ten yards of compost earlier this spring, shoveling and moving it got me into the gardening pretty quickly.  So far we've had a good harvest of several varieties of lettuce and have peas, potatos, beans, cabbage, beets and some more exotic vegetables on the way.  It looks like we're going to have a lot of raspberries and boysenberries, too.  It's hard to grow full-sized tomatoes in western Washington--it doesn't really get hot enough, but I think we might get some this year.  It has been unusually dry for the past three weeks or so, and we're hoping for some good rain soon.  Is anybody else tending a garden?
All best,
Johnm

Offline Slack

• Administrator
Re: Gardening
« Reply #1 on: June 13, 2009, 01:24:59 PM »
Hi Johnm,

I started to do a little gardening this year.  Last summer I took out a diseased elm tree and as a result I have a nice sunny spot for a small garden.  the spot needs enriching however, so I started a compost pile in January and have dumped one load of compost on and will do another before putting in a fall garden.  In the meantime I'm growing some stuff in pots - tomatoes, jalapenos and various herbs - basil, parsley, chives etc.  Not much, but a start.

Offline dj

• Global Moderator
  • Howdy!
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2009, 01:25:30 PM »