collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
To make music is the essential thing. To listen to it is accessory - Charles Seeger

Author Topic: Looking for my first Resonator  (Read 3182 times)

Offline Guitbox Jonny

• The Right Pick Guitar Lessons
Looking for my first Resonator
« on: March 18, 2010, 11:04:13 AM »
Hello all!

I am hoping I can pull from all of your vast knowledge on a recommendation of a new/first resonator.  I am a Guitar teacher, and have been playing for 27 years.  For some reason I never pursued slide until now.  Let me know what you think.  Please let me know what to look for too.  I really appreciate all of your help!

Jonny
It is a dog eat dog world and I am eating milk-bone underpants...

Offline blueshome

• Step on it!
Re: Looking for my first Resonator
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2010, 11:46:19 AM »
First off you don't need a resonator to play slide, most of the country blues slide players who  recorded played wood guitars. Next, what type of material are you wanting to play? Lastly, how much do you want  invest?

Once we know this I'm sure there is a fund of experience and advice available.

Offline Norfolk Slim

• Moonshine - Available at Bandcamp now...
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2010, 11:49:39 AM »
Hullo and welcome...

As im sure you know, you dont NEED a reso for slide.  Ive almost come to the view I prefer flat tops personally.

First reso?  Two main factors- single or tricone, and whats the budget?  Single cones tend to be punchier, have less sustain, and some would say less suited to slide as a result (though i dont think thats necessarily true).

If you have a hefty budget then you cant go wrong with natonals.  If not, most of the budget end resos seem to be reasonable and similar  in quality these days.  If they are available in the states, the Michael Messer range are  very good (semi) budget range from what ive heard and seen.

Offline Stuart

• "The Voice of Almiqui"