collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
I am a cool driver, and I know my way around - Johnny Shines, Cool Driver

Author Topic: John Dudley  (Read 5189 times)

Offline jpeters609

John Dudley
« on: September 16, 2008, 12:34:41 PM »
On October 7, 8, or 9 of 1959 (the exact date is unclear), Alan Lomax recorded an inmate named John Dudley in the "Dairy Camp" portion of the Mississippi prison camp known as Parchman Farms. That is just about all we know of John Dudley, as far as I can tell. Fortunately, he recorded 4 songs (guitar and vocal), and these sides provide a tantalizing ? and remarkably accomplished ? musical mystery. (Actually, he recorded several songs and alternates; only three have been released as of this writing. Editor's note.) One of the songs (Tommy Johnson's "Cool Water Blues") appears on the Atlantic collection "Sounds of the South," which compiles a large cross-section of Alan Lomax's field recordings. A further two songs (a slide-accompanied version of "Po' Boy Blues" and an absolutely astounding interpretation of Charley Patton's "Moon Going Down" called "Clarksdale Mill Blues") are included on the Rounder CD entitled "Southern Journey, Vol.3: 61 Highway."