collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
These Memphis cops call me a vagrant, but I'm a musician. I'm a recording artist for the Vict'ry company. Known all over the world. But these southern laws don't recognize a man by his talents. - Willie Blackwell to Alan Lomax

Author Topic: Blue Smoke - The Recorded Journey of Big Bill Broonzy  (Read 3425 times)

Offline Bunker Hill

Re: Blue Smoke - The Recorded Journey of Big Bill Broonzy
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2010, 11:58:17 AM »
In all probability it is a rework of this:

House, Roger. 'Keys to the Highway': William ?Big Bill? Broonzy and the Chicago Blues in the Era of the Great Migration. Ph.D. Dissertation, Boston University, 1999. 247 pp.

Poor old Bob Reisman, who is soon to see publication of his years of BBB research, is no doubt spitting blood.

Such is life.

Offline TonyGilroy

« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2010, 10:59:00 AM »

I ordered it from Amazon assuming it was the anticipated new biography.

Oh well.

Offline Bunker Hill

« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2010, 11:56:28 AM »

I wonder how many others may make the same assumption? Is it too late to cancel the order or are you going to let it stand and give us the lowdown on it at some later time?  ;)

Offline dj

• Global Moderator
  • Howdy!
« Reply #4 on: September 30, 2010, 11:58:43 AM »
I've ordered it too.  One can never have enough books!  I'll certainly post my thoughts after reading it.

Offline Bunker Hill

« Reply #5 on: September 30, 2010, 12:00:36 PM »
I've ordered it too.  One can never have enough books!  I'll certainly post my thoughts after reading it.
Good man.

The "other" biography is entitled "I Feel So Good: The Life and Times of Big Bill Broonzy"

Offline TonyGilroy

« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2010, 12:01:15 PM »