collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
I caught a pretty little animal, it was stripy, black and white. What it done to me, it spoiled me the rest of my life - Barbecue Bob Hicks, Black Skunk Blues

Author Topic: Spoonfull...was a capo what I needed???  (Read 8520 times)

Offline Blue in VT

• Howdy!
Spoonfull...was a capo what I needed???
« on: April 01, 2008, 10:38:53 AM »
Howdy all,

So I was messing around the other night trying to figure out why I'm having such trouble with my singing sounding right...and then I tried something that will seem very obvious to most folks...I put a capo on the first fret....DUH!!!  since I'm just getting into singing I hadn't even taken my capo out of the case in over a year...but I think it makes a huge difference.  what do you think?  Do you use a capo when singing the blues?

Here's the details:
Song: Spoonfull (Mance Lipscomb..as taught by E. Hawkins)
Guitar: Larrivee OM-05MT...capo 1st fret
Strings: Elixir Nanoweb Light PBs.
Recorder: Sony MZ N707 minidisc
Microphone: Sony ECM-OS70P...about 15 inches from guitar
Software: Audacity
Clumsy fingers:  ALL MINE!!!   
Link: http://media.putfile.com/Mary-Helen---spoonfull-capo-words

Cheers,

Blue
« Last Edit: April 02, 2008, 06:42:46 AM by Blue in VT »
Blue in VT

Offline NevadaPic

Re: Spoonfull...was a capo what I needed???
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2008, 05:22:52 PM »
Do you use a capo when singing the blues?
No.  Nor do I use one when playing the blues either.  Whenever I think of the capo I wonder "How does one capo a piano?"  Or "How does one capo a saxophone?"  Throw it away!  Learn to live without it.  It's a crutch that will ultimately limit your playing not help it.

Pic 
If I don't meet you no more in this world, I'll meet you in the next one so don't be late...

Offline CF

« Reply #2 on: April 01, 2008, 05:33:23 PM »