collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
You see, she liked these young musicians, and in comes John Work and I - we were young to her. We were something sent down, and she didn't know which one to choose. Each of us knew we were not choosing her! We just wanted to talk, but she was interested in other things - Sterling Brown quoted in Ma Rainey and The Classic Blues Singers, Derrick Stewart-Baxter

Author Topic: Blues on a Tiple  (Read 7014 times)

Offline vandeller

Blues on a Tiple
« on: September 14, 2009, 03:02:47 PM »
I'm a blues guitarist and mandolin player, getting interested in buying and learning to play the tiple, but there's precious little out there that I can find, to listen to or read - any tips?  Who are the tiple players I should be looking out for?  I'm only aware of it as a footnote on string band records.  I also play blues and old time country on a Puerto -Rican cuatro, which is an interesting sound - I only got it as a stop gap while looking for a tiple.  I still haven't got one, but in the mean time the cuatro is a good substitute.

Offline Slack

• Administrator
Re: Tiple? What can you tell me?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2009, 03:10:31 PM »
Hi Vandeller, welcome to weeniecampbell.

Are you looking to play a South American tiple?  Or the tiple produced by Martin? - which is basically a 10 string ukulele...

Offline dj

• Global Moderator
  • Howdy!
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2009, 05:09:17 PM »
Big Boy Teddy Edwards recorded a few blues on which he accompanied himself with a tiple, both solo and with a band.  All of his recordings are on Document CD 5440.

Offline uncle bud

• Rank amateur
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2009, 08:05:06 PM »
Dj beat me to it on Teddy Edwards. I really like Teddy Edwards, though he is frankly much more fun as a singer than a tiple player, and better with a band.

Offline Parlor Picker

• Aloha
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2009, 01:27:30 AM »