collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
My group of people - Joe Turner, King Curtis, Mickey Baker - used to laugh at all the country blues singers who were backwards musically. John Lee Hooker and Lightnin' Hopkins sang out of meter - we couldn't respect them - Doc Pomus, quoted in How The Beatles Destroyed Rock 'N' Roll by Elijah Wald

Author Topic: Guitar for Fingerpicking  (Read 4429 times)

Offline Murphydog

• Howdy!
Guitar for Fingerpicking
« on: January 15, 2005, 02:35:34 PM »
I realise that I'm probably overlapping with existing threads but I would like to harness the collective wisdom of the board one more time. I'm just starting out on the road to fingerpicking heaven but so far I'm doing it on my one current guitar which is a 60s Gibson Dove and, whilst its a nice instrument in its own right, it sounds all wrong. Its far too bassy for a start and theres none of the projection I want. So I'm looking for suggestions and the excuse to buy another guitar! I'm in the UK and my budget is fairly limited approx ?500. I know I can rely on you guys :D

boots

Re: Guitar for Fingerpicking
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2005, 03:09:07 PM »
Allowing for the good exchange rate and the fact that we always get ripped off over here that could equate to around $1500.

Offline Richard

• Drove this for 25 years!
    • weekendblues
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2005, 06:00:00 AM »
You might well pick up a gem in the US which has to better value than UK prices, work on roughly ?=2$ and add about $100 for shipping .
(That's enough of that. Ed)

Offline Murphydog

• Howdy!
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2005, 12:53:04 PM »
There is a newish Gibson L-00 Blues King on ebay at the moment. Anybody played one of these?

Offline Slack

• Administrator
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2005, 01:37:26 PM »
Hi MD,