collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Blues are the songs of despair, but gospel songs are the songs of hope - Mahalia Jackson

Author Topic: Country Blues guitar prefence  (Read 4411 times)

AX17609

Country Blues guitar prefence
« on: March 18, 2006, 11:02:14 AM »
Hello eveyone,

Aside from playing a bit of country blues I have been building acoustic guitars as a hobby for a couple years now. I've only built a few so far and a Uke. Here is a question for the group. What style, brand,scale length, cut-away or not do you perfer when playing country blues? The reason I'm asking is I'd like to aim toward a country blues type guitar. I do realize I can't build a guitar and make it 70yrs old but you get the idea.

Thanks

John G

Offline onewent

• Mr. So and So
    • vintagebluesguitars.com
Re: Country Blues guitar prefence
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2006, 11:15:16 AM »
Ax, this the oft asked question on several of the BB's I read ...  check out the Gitfiddle forum here on Weenie, you'll find lots there, including new-made like you envision ... my personal preference for country blues style is the instruments that were made during that time, like the old Stellas and Nationals...

Just curious, and if you view it as a thread hi-jack, email me, but how did you learn to build?  I'm interested in getting my repair skills up to snuff and am always curious how folks learn to build and repair...  regards, tom

Offline waxwing

• Wax's YouTube Channel
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2006, 11:36:57 AM »
Heck, I thought I ouhgta just move it over here.