collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
There is no boundary between 'types of music'. I see two types of sounds -- good ones and bad ones - Gram Parsons

Author Topic: Leadbellys Guitar Style--Queries and Tips  (Read 14412 times)

Offline a2tom

• stickman's got 'em
Leadbellys Guitar Style--Queries and Tips
« on: December 12, 2004, 06:11:28 AM »
This post was stimulated by the Georgia Blues thread and the moderators should feel free to move it there if desired, but since I bring up a new artist/tune, I thought I'd start a new one...

Take this question as what it is, from a total newbie to the 12-string who doesn't even own one (but is thinking he may have to at some point soon  ;D)  I was listening to some Leadbelly the other day and got to slowing it down in Transcribe! (my new favorite electronic toy - it is SO useful, and way better than the Amazing Slow Downer for those who were curious on that subject).

Anyway, I got to exploring Kansas City Papa.  I LOVE the tonalities he gets in there.  Please correct me if I'm wrong as I'm new to doing this, but I managed to convince myself he was playing in standard, in C tuned down to ~D as I recall.  But there were tones showing up that I just couldn't account for.  I assume these were coming from the 2nd course strings, but couldn't be if they were strung in octaves or unison, not even as overtones.

So my question is did/do people ever tune the 2nd strings of a course to something other than octaves or unison?  An alternative is that he wasn't tuned standard but in Vestapol, but honestly still can't account for some tones (like an F tone showing up in a C chord).  Another possibility is that some of those tones are because he wasn't fingering the simple-minded chord positions I started out assuming.