collapse

* Member Info

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
Says I love you woman, love your husband too. Have to love your husband to get to be wit you - Charley Jordan, Hunkie Tunk Blues

Author Topic: left hand pinky development/strengthening  (Read 742 times)

Offline Cartouche

• tombstone hand/graveyard mind
left hand pinky development/strengthening
« on: April 02, 2012, 03:55:09 PM »
I've been fingerpicking for about 9 months now, and I'm struggling a bit with my fretting pinky. On songs like Spike Driver's Blues and Mama, Your Papa Cares For You where there's a lot of pinky action (esp. the latter), I often wind up on the wrong string but the right fret, like playing Bb when I should be on D, and vice versa. I guess I should mention that I don't look at the guitar as I play.

The hammering pinky on the Cotten song is a bit tough too, as I just don't have the same authority with the pinky hammer-ons vs. the other 3 fingers. (This does seem to be improving.)

I'm sticking with it, but wondering...any special exercises I should do to improve, or is it just a matter of sticking to it and eventually the muscle memory and strength kick in?

Thanks,
Marc
« Last Edit: April 02, 2012, 03:56:40 PM by Cartouche »

Offline Johnm

• Global Moderator
    • johnmillerguitar.com
Re: left hand pinky development/strengthening
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2012, 04:19:53 PM »
Hi Marc,
Those are really good songs to work on if you want to get your pinky under control.  I have a couple of ideas that may help--
   * Make sure you strike the string very firmly with the right hand on the note that precedes the hammer.  If the string is vibrating well, you won't have to use undue force with the pinky to wind up with an audible hammered note.